OIL LEAK on rear tyre and engine and starting problem!

Fixing stuff and replacing bits to keep your LML road worthy.

Moderators: Geezer, Tony, NICK, Laurie

OIL LEAK on rear tyre and engine and starting problem!

Postby juno106 » Fri Mar 09, 2012 11:40 pm

Hi guys

I finished restauring my LML NV from 1991.I have bought white wall tyres,changed some parts and I have these problems left now:

There is oil leak on my rear tyre (it ruined my rear white wall tyre).On some other forums I have posted pics,so I will post them here too so that you can see and help me.On modernvespa forum,people said that probably is worn out"rear hub oil seal".I'm a newbie and not from UK,so I apologize for my English.and I don't know all the names of the parts and what they mean.
I'm planing to order 3 oil seals that are inside engine.but my question is this:
1. WHAT SIZE ARE THOSE OIL SEALS,SINCE I SAW ON SCOOTERCENTER WEBSITE THERE ARE DIFFERENT SIZES FOR DIFFERENT VESPA'S? WHICH OIL SEALS WILL FIT MY LML NV 150cc FROM 1991 (kicks start only) and I think that it is the first model not SPL??????
Here is the link so tell me if you can which ones fit my LML?
http://www.scooter-center.com/scoweb/pa ... vespa%20px
Are they same size as VESPA PX or different?

I don't know how to upload pictures here so I hope you won't mind if I put the link from modernvespa forum,so that you can see the pics of where oil is leaking: http://modernvespa.com/forum/topic90771

2. And one more thing.......I have problems starting my LML NV......I changed 2 new spakplugs,cleaned carburetor,cleaned fuel tank,resurfaced cylinder head......AND STILL IT NEEDS TOO MUCH KICKS TO START,like 10 or maybe more !!!!! WHAT CAN BE THE PROBLEM??

Thank you guys in advance and I hope you can help me,since the season for riding starts very soon :)
juno106

Re: OIL LEAK on rear tyre and engine and starting problem!

Postby Tony » Fri Mar 09, 2012 11:55 pm